Center for Advanced Systems Engineering

Center for Advanced Systems Engineering

The key to innovation strength and competiveness in the future

Traditional software and systems engineering is on the verge of a turning point. To date, the focus has been on ensuring the reliability and safety of relatively small, centralized and automated systems operating in predictable environments. Current and future requirements are increasingly shifting toward the trustworthiness of larger, dynamically-connected, self-learning and continuously self-adapting systems that often respond autonomously.

These systems typically feature a high proportion of software, which enables powerful functions that go far beyond what was once possible with mechatronic systems that operate more in an isolated environment. The high software ratio and corresponding possibility to add new and modified functions, even during runtime, harbors enormous market potential and significant competitive advantages for pioneering companies.

The fortiss Center for Advanced Systems Engineering is thus pursuing the goal of creating as consistent a design framework as possible in order to develop advanced software-intensive systems across the entire life cycle in a values-oriented and manageable manner. Apart from industrial technology leaders, the focus here is also on small-to-medium enterprises that have recognized that software is a vital element of their value chain. In close collaboration with our partners from industry and business, we are developing a targeted portfolio of research, development and transfer services and serve as an expert training partner.

Contact

[Translate to English:] Prof. Dr. Sebastian Voss

Dr. Sebastian Voss

case@fortiss.org

 

[Translate to English:] Prof. Dr. Broy

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Broy

case@fortiss.org

Services

Icon information

Regular events featuring scientific and practical presentations regarding current trends and developments in advanced systems engineering. Various formats are available for use as a meeting point for sharing information and discussing diverse subjects.
 

Icon research

Initiation and coordination of research projects for solving current challenges in advanced systems engineering. The results are then prepared and made available for practical application.
 

Icon network

Organization and moderation of meetings to share experiences related to the introduction or application of advanced systems engineering. These meetings present an opportunity to identify gaps in methods and engineering. The network also offers the possibility to discuss application-wide topics and create new networks.

Icon Analysis

Scientific-based analysis of selected aspects of advanced systems engineering (in particular process landscapes, requirements, architectures, software, tools) that were developed in specific/individual companies/organizations.

Icon qualification

Wide range of training and education measures such as seminars and training programs on advanced systems engineering topics that ensure the transfer of new scientific findings to employees in the company.

 

Icon transformation

Assessment and evaluation of companies by independent experts from science regarding the values-oriented development of software-intensive systems. Answers to important issues on the basis of a targeted transformation process that also takes into account necessary organizational changes if applicable.

Challenges

Advanced software-intensive systems represent a tremendous challenge for traditional systems engineering given that they spawn completely new requirements:

Despite major scientific and practical strides in these areas over the past several years, there remains a lack of scalable applications, as well as a shortage of suitable reference models, open standards and support tools.

  • Heavily-intertwined development processes of the participating engineering disciplines such as computer science, machine engineering and electronics engineering
  • Continuous development and provisioning under dynamic conditions
  • Distributed, dynamically-organized and heterogonous development teams
  • Increased demands on quality, safety and compliance
  • Algorithmic transparency, accountability and responsibility owing to increasingly autonomous and decentralized software structures
  • Heavily-intertwined data- and model-driven development methods
  • Developent of software-intensive systems with learning-based AI components
  • Agile systems engineering, even for mission- and safety-critical systems

Expertise

The center’s services are based on the results of a series of national projects related to the manageable development of software-intensive systems. The resulting advanced systems engineering framework helps numerous partners to design the development of software-intensive systems in a manageable and resource-efficient manner.

Here the special focus is on agile development principles, high variability requirements, the reuse of legacy components from prior subsystems, the integration of an asset library and the management of product lines.

The Center for Advanced Systems Engineering incorporates these principles into a consistent approach and using this as a foundation, provides a clear and scalable methodology.

    Further informationen

    [Translate to English:] fortiss Whitepaper Advanced Systems Engineering
    Advanced Systems Engineering
    Download pdf - german
    [Translate to English:] fortiss Whitepaper Praxisnahe Einführung von Model-based Systems Engineering
    Praxisnahe Einführung von
    Model-based Systems Engineering
    Download pdf - german

Center for Advanced Systems Engineering

Center for Advanced Systems Engineering

Schlüssel für zukünftige Innovationskraft und Wettbewerbsfähigkeit

Das traditionelle Software- und Systems-Engineering befindet sich an einem Wendepunkt: Bisher stand die Sicherstellung der Verlässlichkeit und Sicherheit von relativ kleinen, zentralisierten und automatisierten Systemen im Mittelpunkt, die in vorhersehbaren Umgebungen arbeiten. Die gegenwärtigen und zukünftigen Anforderungen verlagern sich zunehmend auf die Gewährleistung von Vertrauenswürdigkeit größerer, dynamisch vernetzter, selbstlernender und sich ständig weiterentwickelnder, oft autonom agierender Systeme.

Typisch für diese Systeme ist, dass durch die hohen Softwareanteile leistungsstarke Funktionalitäten ermöglicht werden. Diese gehen stark über das hinaus, was in der Vergangenheit für eher isoliert arbeitende mechatronische Systeme machbar war. Der hohe Softwareanteil und die dadurch gewonnene Option, neue und geänderte Funktionalität auch während der Laufzeit der Systeme hinzuzufügen, bergen ein enormes Marktpotenzial und erhebliche Wettbewerbsvorteile für Pionierunternehmen.

Das fortiss Center for Advanced Systems Engineering verfolgt daher das Ziel, einen möglichst durchgängigen Entwurf- und Konstruktionsrahmen zu schaffen, um moderne softwareintensive Systeme im gesamten Lebenszyklus wertorientiert und beherrschbar entwickeln zu können. Dabei stehen neben industriellen Technologieführern insbesondere auch mittelständische Unternehmen im Fokus, die Software als zentralen Bestandteil ihrer Wertschöpfungskette erkannt haben. In enger Kooperation mit unseren Partnern aus Industrie und Wirtschaft entwickeln wir ein zielgerichtetes Angebot zu Forschung, Entwicklung und Transfer und sind kompetenter Schulungspartner.

Herausforderungen

Moderne softwareintensive Systeme stellen eine enorme Herausforderung für das traditionelle Systems-Engineering dar, da deren Entwicklung völlig neue Anforderungen mit sich bringt:

Trotz großer Fortschritte in den letzten Jahren auf diesen Gebieten in Wissenschaft und Praxis mangelt es weiterhin an skalierbaren Anwendungen. Außerdem fehlen geeignete Referenzmodelle, offene Standards und unterstützende Werkzeuge.

  • starke Verzahnung der Entwicklungsprozesse der beteiligten Ingenieurdisziplinen wie Informatik, Maschinenbau und Elektrotechnik
  • kontinuierliche Entwicklung und Bereitstellung bei dynamischen Randbedingungen
  • verteilte, dynamisch organisierte und heterogene Entwicklungsteams
  • erhöhte Anforderungen an Qualität, Sicherheit und Compliance
  • algorithmische Transparenz, Rechenschaftspflicht und Verantwortung aufgrund zunehmend autonomer und dezentraler Softwarestrukturen
  • enge Verzahnung von daten- und modellgetriebenen Entwicklungsmethoden
  • Entwicklung softwareintensiver Systeme mit lernbasierten KI-Komponenten
  • agiles Systems-Engineering auch für missions- und sicherheitskritische Systeme

Angebote

Icon Information

Regelmäßige Veranstaltungen mit Vorträgen aus Wissenschaft und Praxis zu aktuellen Trends und Entwicklungen des Advanced Systems Engineering. Unterschiedliche Formate stehen als Treffpunkt sowohl für den Informationsaustausch als auch zur Erörterung von diversen Themenbereichen bereit.
 

Icon Forschung

Einschätzung und Bewertung von Unternehmen durch unabhängige Expert*innen aus der Wissenschaft in Bezug auf die wertorientierte Entwicklung softwareintensiver Systeme. Beantwortung wichtiger Fragestellungen als Basis eines zielgerichteten Transformationsprozesses, der gegebenenfalls auch notwendige organisatorische Anpassungen berücksichtigt.

Icon Netzwerk

Organisation und Moderation von Treffen zum gegenseitigen Erfahrungsaustausch bei der Einführung oder beim Einsatz von Advanced Systems-Engineering sowie die Identifikation methodischer und technischer Lücken, die dabei entstehen. Durch das Netzwerk ergeben sich die Möglichkeiten, Themen anwendungsübergreifend zu diskutieren und neue Netzwerke aufzubauen.

Icon Analyse

Wissenschaftsbasierte Analyse ausgewählter Artefakte (insbesondere Prozesslandschaft, Anforderungen, Architekturen, Software, Werkzeuge) des Advanced Systems Engineering, die in spezifischen/einzelnen Unternehmen/Organisationen entwickelt wurden.

Icon Qualifizierung

Vielfältige Weiterbildungsmaßnahmen wie Seminenare und Trainings zu ausgewählten Themen des Advanced Systems Engineering, die den Transfer von neuen wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnissen zu den Mitarbeiter*innen der Unternehmen gewährleisten.

 

Icon Transformation

Einschätzung und Bewertung von Unternehmen durch unabhängige Expert*innen aus der Wissenschaft in Bezug auf die wertorientierte Entwicklung softwareintensiver Systeme.  Beantwortung wichtiger Fragestellungen als Basis eines zielgerichteten Transformationsprozesses, der gegebenenfalls auch notwendige organisatorische Anpassungen berücksichtigt.

Expertise

Das Angebot des Centers basiert auf den Ergebnissen einer Reihe nationaler Projekte zur beherrschbaren Entwicklung softwareintensiver Systeme. Das daraus entwickelte Rahmenwerk zu Advanced Systems Engineering dient zahlreichen Praxispartnern, die Entwicklung softwareintensiver Systeme beherrschbar und ressourcenschonend zu gestalten.

Hier stehen insbesondere agile Entwicklungsprinzipien, hohe Variabilitätsanforderungen, Wiederverwendung von Legacy-Teilen früherer Subsysteme, Integration einer Asset-Bibliothek und Handhabung von Produktlinien im Vordergrund.

Das Center for Advanced Systems Engineering integriert diese Prinzipien in einer konsistenten Herangehensweise und stellt auf dieser Grundlage eine klare und skalierbare Methodik bereit.

    Kontakt

    Prof. Dr. Sebastian Voss

    Dr. Sebastian Voss

    case@fortiss.org

     

    Prof. Dr. Broy

    Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Broy

    case@fortiss.org

    Weitere Informationen

    fortiss Whitepaper Advanced Systems Engineering
    Advanced Systems Engineering
    Download pdf
    fortiss Whitepaper Praxisnahe Einführung von Model-based Systems Engineering
    Praxisnahe Einführung von
    Model-based Systems Engineering
    Download pdf